Posted by: vibesandstuff | May 5, 2008

Bittersweet

I have spent all of my afternoon today moving stuff out of my dorm into a storage place for the summer.  It’s such a great feeling now that I am almost done with my first year of college.  I am very happy to be leaving, but sad at the same time to leave the place I called home for almost nine months.  It was the perfect day today to move out.  The weather was a nice and sunny 77 degrees.  I got a little sunburnt from being out for two hours because I helped some of my friends move out their stuff also.

By the time I got back to my dorm, I just had enough time to shower and get ready to go out to dinner with my co workers in Centera.  We went to an Italian restaurant called “Biaggi’s.”  The food was great!  Ordering was a long and delayed process because there was so much on the menu that we wanted to try.  Our waitress came and went several times before she finally the orders.

I ordered “Chicken Pietro.” It was grilled chicken breast marinated in garlic, dijon mustard, honey, and topped with mushrooms with a side of zucchini, yellow squash, and other vegetables.  Dee-lish!

After dinner, my boss gave a little farewell to us all and shared with us a gift called “The Secret” written by Christian D. Larson.  “The Secret” is a motivational letter to help us remember who we are, and to make sure we always be true to ourselves.  Along with that, we were all given mini zen gardens, which was really cool!  I’ve always wanted one! lol.  Overall, it was a loud and fun dinner with a very sad ending.  It was heart breaking when my boss announced her retirement on our staff meeting a couple weeks ago.  She was always energetic and had a smile tatooed to her face everyday I came to work.  I can honestly say, some of the best times I’ve had going to school here was at work, and it was all because of her…

After all that, it is still Finals Week.  I still haven’t done any studying yet, but I will get on that soon.  It’s nice to get a break sometimes.  I just can’t wait to be done so I can go home and see my girlfriend. 3 more days left. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

